While we have more than a month before the start of the Esports World Cup 2024, the event organizers steadily feed us with new information about its 20 tournaments. Recently, they announced the format for EWC Street Fighter 6 and Tekken 8 tournaments. They are almost the same, so the difference is very little.

First of all, let's talk about the prize distribution. All 32 players in both tournaments will receive at least $5,000 of prize money. The winners will get $300,000. The full picture is as follows:

  • 1st place - $300,000
  • 2nd place - $140,000
  • 3rd place - $75,000 each
  • 5th place - $45,000 each
  • 9th place - $20,000 each
  • 13th place - $12,500 each
  • 17th place - $7,500 each
  • 25th place - $5,000 each

Now, about the format of the event. 32 players are split into eight double-elimination groups. Top-2 advance to the next stage, bottom-2 are eliminated. 16 players will be once again grouped into four double elimination brackets, where only better half of them will enter single-elimination playoffs.

Single-elimination playoffs is something unusual, as almost all tournaments embrace double-elimination with the option of grand final reset (when a grand finalist from the upper bracket loses a set, the tournament is not over as one more set is played). 

Apart from the Last Chance Qualifier, there will not be many opportunities to qualify. The biggest chances for players to do so will be DreamHack Dallas and DreamHack Summer - top-8 of each tournament will have the right to play in the Esports World Cup.

Main image: alphacoders.com